How I use Violets

IMG_3022

Viola Odorata

Disclaimer: I am not responsible for misuse or abuse of any herb or remedy.  This is not medical advise.  Use your own judgement to determine if these recipes will work for you.  Do your own research.  Use common sense. I am only sharing what works for me.

Leaves:  infused oil, dried infusions, fresh infusions, poultices, cooked greens, in salads, infused vinegar.

Flowers:  infused oil, frozen lemon honey, infused honey, on salads, infused vinegar, cookies, syrup

I use violet leaves to shrink and dissolve cysts and other such growth.  It does take time and consistent use.  Violet and Chickweed may make good partners is getting rid of cysts, tumors, and other nasties.  I make an infused oil with the leaves.  I use this like a lotion, applying on the area of the growth.  I also drink a fresh leaf infusion, using the leaves as a slippery poultice on the area.  I love the cooling effect violet has.  I use violet infused vinegar to treat sunburn.

The flowers of the violet plant make a wonderful syrup or honey.  I use both for colds and coughs.  I even freeze some violet infused honey with a little lemon juice mixed in for a nice treat on a burning throat.  The flowers can be infused in olive oil.  I use this to treat tinnitus (a drop in each ear a few times a day).

Fresh leaves and flowers are great in the kitchen.  I eat them fresh or cooked up like spinach.  I have made a cream of violet soup with cilantro and nutmeg…yum.

Violet leaf oil is a base for most of my balms/salves.

Violet leaf oil:  Fill a dry jar with dry chopped leaves.  Fill again with olive oil.  Use chopstick to poke out all air bubbles.  Put lid on and place jar in a bowl to catch spills in a cool dark place for 6 weeks.  Strain.

Fresh Violet leaf infusion:  Fill a jar with fresh leaves and again with boiling water.  Let stand for 4 hours or overnight.  Drink the liquid, use the leaves for a poultice.

Dried leaf infusion: Fill a quart jar with one once herb.  Fill again with boiling water.  Wait 4 hours or overnight.  Strain and drink.

Violet vinegar:  Fill a jar with leaves and flowers.  Fill again with apple cider vinegar.  Wait six weeks.  Strain. (use plastic lid)  Mix with aloe for a cooling sunburn spray or mix with olive oil for a salad dressing (add your own extras)

Flower honey:  Fill a jar with flowers, fill again with raw honey.  Poke out air.  Wait six weeks.  Can be strained.

Frozen honey:  Throw a bunch of flowers in the blender with enough lemon juice and honey to make a semi-thick mess.  Add more honey if desired.  Place in a jar in the freezer.  This makes a nice dessert like treat full of vitamin c.

Flower Syrup:  Fill a jar with flowers.  Fill again with boiling water.  Let sit overnight.  Strain.  Gently heat liquid (do not boil) until reduced by half.  Add enough honey to make it sweet and syrupy. (typically equal parts liquid to honey)

I have been known to throw violet flowers in baked goods and soups.

Thank you for reading and I hope you will give violet a try if it’s right for you!

 

Leave a comment